مدرسة الأمير تشارلز للفنون التقليدية

في عام 2004 أسّس صاحب السمو الملكي أمير ويلز، مدرسة الأمير تشارلز للفنون التقليدية والتي استمدت مفهومها من الفنون الإسلامية المرئية ضمن برنامج “فيتا” الذي تأسس من قبل البروفيسور كيث كريتشلو في الكلية الملكية للفنون عام 1984. واليوم، توفّر المدرسة للطلاب تقنيات وأساليب الفن المعاصر المستوحاة من التراث المعاصر.

بدأت شراكة الفن جميل ومدرسة الأمير عام 2008، وقد أطلقوا في عام 2009 برنامجاً مشتركاً (مع صندوق التنمية الثقافية في مصر) لتدريس الفنون التقليدية في القاهرة، وقد تطّور هذا البرنامج اليوم تحت مسمى بيت جميل للفنون التراثية في القاهرة.

يوفر هذا البيت برامج دراسية للفنانين والحرفيين المحليين المعاصرين في الفنون التراثية في مصر، ويستخدم المهارات المكتسبة في تلك البرنامج بشكلٍ عملي في حفظ وترميم المواقع التراثية الإسلامية في القاهرة. ويدعم الخريجين الباحثين عن فرص عمل أو ريادة الأعمال التجارية في الفنون التراثية.

وفي عام 2015، افتتح كل من مدرسة الأمير تشارلز للفنون التقليدية والفن جميل مركزا ثانياً في منطقة “البلد” في جدة، المملكة العربية السعودية تحت مسمى: بيت جميل للفنون التراثية / جدة. وكما هو الحال في القاهرة، يركز الفرع في جدّة على الحفاظ على الفنون التراثية واستخدام المهارات لصيانة وترميم المنازل التراثية في منطقة البلد.

ويجري حاليا إنشاء معهد ثالث – بيت جميل للفنون التراثية / اسكتلندا – في دمفريس هاوس البيت الذي تعود ملكيته لصاحب السمو الملكي أمير ويلز، والمقرر افتتاحه في عام 2018.

The Prince’s School of Traditional Arts

Founded in 2004 by HRH The Prince of Wales, The Prince’s School of Traditional Arts developed from the Visual Islamic and Traditional Arts (VITA) Programme established at The Royal College of Art in 1984 by Professor Keith Critchlow. Today, the School teaches students the techniques and methods of contemporary art inspired by living tradition.

Art Jameel and the Prince’s School have been in partnership since 2008 and in 2009 they launched a joint programme (together with the Cultural Development Fund of Egypt) to teach the traditional arts in Cairo, Egypt. Today, that programme has become the Jameel House of Traditional Arts / Cairo.

The Jameel House of Traditional Arts / Cairo teaches local contemporary artists and artisans in the traditional arts of Egypt, and is now putting the skills taught in the programme to practical use in the conservation and restoration of heritage sites in Islamic Cairo. JHTA/C also supports graduates seeking employment or to establish businesses in the traditional arts.

In 2015, the Prince’s School and Art Jameel launched a second institute in the Old Town (Al-Balad) of Jeddah, Saudi Arabia: the Jameel House of Traditional Arts / Jeddah. As in Cairo, the Jeddah institute is focused on preserving the traditional arts and applying those skills to the conservation and restoration of traditional houses in Al-Balad.

A third institute – the Jameel House of Traditional Arts / Scotland – is currently under construction on the Dumfries House estate of HRH The Prince of Wales. JHTA/S is due to open in 2018.