بيت جميل للفنون التراثية / القاهرة

أطلقت مؤسسة الفن جميل، بالتعاون مع مدرسة الأمير تشارلز للفنون التقليدية، وصندوق التنمية الثقافية في مصر في عام 2009، بيت جميل للفنون التراثية في القاهرة، وهو معهد تعليمي رئيسي يهدف لتقديم فصول تعليمية للشباب المصري في الهندسة الإسلامية التقليدية، والرسم، وتجانس الألوان والأرابيسك، وكذلك تقديم التدريب المتخصص في السيراميك والزجاج والجبس، والأعمال المعدنية والأشغال الخشبية.

في بيت جميل للفنون التراثية في القاهرة، يتم تدريس الطلاب لمدة عامين للحصول على شهادة الدبلوم ضمن برنامج تم إعداده وتطويره من قبل مدرسة الأمير تشارلز للفنون التقليدية، وفقاً لنفس المبادئ والمعايير المطبقة في دورات الدراسات العليا في المقر الرئيسي للمدرسة في لندن.

يقع بيت جميل للفنون التراثية في قلب الحي التاريخي القديم لمدينة القاهرة، وبالتحديد في مركز الفسطاط للفنون والحرف التقليدية، ويركز البرنامج على الحفاظ على التراث الثقافي المحلي، الذي يشمل رحلات ميدانية إلى المعالم التاريخية وكذلك أعمال التصميم وإقامة المشاريع. ويقدّم أيضاً دعم للخريجين الباحثين عن فرص عمل أو الراغبين في إنشاء أعمال تجارية في الفنون التقليدية.

يتخرج سنوياً حوالي 20 طالباً لينضموا إلى نادي الخرّيجين وتتاح لهم الفرصة للمشاركة في المعرض السنوي للخريجين.

يعلن موعد قبول الطلبات على صفحة الفيسبوك في شهري مايو / ويونيو، وتتم المقابلات في مقر البيت في القاهرة في شهري أغسطس / سبتمبر.

Launched in 2009 by Art Jameel, the Prince’s School of Traditional Arts, and the Cultural Development Fund of Egypt, the Jameel House of Traditional Arts / Cairo is a major educational institute teaching young Egyptians classes in traditional Islamic geometry, drawing, colour harmony and arabesque studies, as well as specialised training in ceramics, glass and gypsum, metalwork and woodwork.

At JHTA/C, students are taught a two-year diploma programme, developed and delivered by the Prince’s School, according to the same principles and standards as the postgraduate courses of the original London school.

Located in the heart of the historic district of Old Cairo, at the Fustat Centre for Traditional Arts and Crafts, the JHTA/C programme focuses on the preservation of local cultural heritage, including through field trips to major monuments and practical design and make projects. JHTA/C also supports graduates seeking employment or to establish businesses in the traditional arts.

Around 20 students graduate each year and join the many alumni who connect through the programme’s alumni club and participate in the annual alumni exhibition.

Applications for the JHTA/C programme open each year on the JHTA/C Facebook page in May / June, with interviews held at JHTA/C in August / September.