متحف جدة للمجسمات

في فترة السبعينات، أطلق السيد محمد سعيد فارسي، أمين محافظة جدة، مشروع “تجميل جدة”. وقام بشراء ما يزيد عن 400 عمل نحتي تضمّنت أعمال مهمّة لفنانين دوليين مثل هنري مور، جون ميرو وإسكندر كالدر وآخرون. تعد مجموعة المجسّمات تلك، واحدة من أكثر مقتنيات الفن العام في العالم وأكثرها تنوعاً حيث يمتد نطاق الأعمال من التصميمات العربية التقليدية إلى الفن التجريدي والنصب التذكارية.

بحلول عام 2000، وبسبب المناخ المحلي القاسي بدأت بعض علامات التدهور تظهر علي بعض هذه الأعمال. ولذلك قررت الفن جميل بالتعاون مع أمانة محافظة جدة ترميم تلك المجسّمات وإبراز أهميتها وذلك عن طريق إنشاء متحف مفتوح، يُعرض به 20 عملاً في حديقة على مساحة 7 كيلومترات في الكورنيش الأوسط بجدة والتي تعرف محلياً بإسم “الحمراء”.

وبجانب النشاطات التسويقية للمتحف، تواصل الفن جميل في ترميم بعض المجسّمات المتبقية في أنحاء المدينة، وفي بعض الأحيان، تسعى إلى إضافة أعمال جديدة، والتي كان آخرها عمل مها ملّوح غذاء للفكر “أبراج (2016)”.

المتحف مجاني ومتاح للجميع.

In the 1970s, Jeddah’s mayor, Mohammed Said Farsi, initiated the ‘Jeddah Beautification Project’ and purchased more than 400 sculptures, including major works by international artists such as Henry Moore, Joan Miro and Alexander Calder, among others. The collection is one of the world’s most extensive focussed on public art, and no doubt the most diverse: the style of the works ranges from traditional Arabic designs to the abstract and monumental.

Exposed to the harsh local climate, by the 2000s, some of the works were beginning to show signs of deterioration. Therefore, Art Jameel, in collaboration with Jeddah Municipality, decided to not only restore some of the sculptures but also to increase their prominence by creating an open-air museum, showcasing 20 works in a seven square kilometre park along the middle Corniche in Jeddah, known locally as ‘Al Hamraa’.

Besides activities to promote the Museum, Art Jameel is continuing the restoration of some of the remaining sculptures around the city, and on occasion, seeking to add new works, the latest being Maha Malluh’s Food for Thought ‘Abraj’ (2016).

Entrance to the Museum is free and open to all.