تاريخنا

تأسست الفن جميل في عام 2003 كجزء من مجتمع جميل، لمواصلة مسيرة عائلة جميل في دعم المجتمع التي بدأ في الثلاثينات من قبل الراحل عبد اللطيف جميل، مؤسس شركات عبداللطيف جميل، حيث ساعد على مدار حياته عشرات الآلاف في مجالات الرعاية الصحية، والتعليم، وتحسين مستوى المعيشة. واليوم، تكرّس مجتمع جميل جهودها لدعم الاستدامة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في جميع أنحاء منطقة الشرق الأوسط من خلال مجموعة من المبادرات المتنوعة.

وتعدّ الفن جميل مؤسسة مستقلة، تهدف إلى تعزيز الفن المعاصر، وحماية التراث الثقافي، وريادة الأعمال الإبداعية في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وتركيا.

وفي عام 2003، تعاونت الفن جميل مع متحف فيكتوريا وألبرت في لندن لتجديد الصالة الإسلامية، الذي تدعى الآن صالة جميل للفنون الإسلامية. وتواصل عمل الفن جميل في دعم التراث في عام 2009 حيث قامت المؤسسة بتدشين بيت جميل للفنون التراثية بالقاهرة وهي مؤسسة تعليمية تعمل على حفظ الفنونالتراثية والحرف التقليدية، وتدعم الفنانين الشباب في تطوير التصاميم المعاصرة المستوحاة من التراث المصري. وتساعد المؤسسة الخريجين على استخدام مهاراتهم في ترميم الآثار أو كرواد أعمال. وفى عام 2013، إنتهت الفن جميل بالتعاون مع أمانة محافظة جدة من بناء متحف مفتوح للمجسمات على كورنيش جدة حيث تمت صيانة ونقل 26 مجسماً من الفن الحديث والمعاصر من مختلف أنحاء المدينة إلى موقعها الجديد بمتحف جدة للمجسمات.

وفضلاً عن الحفاظ على تراث منطقة الشرق الأوسط، يمثل دعم الفنانين المعاصرين الجدد محوراً أساسياً لرسالة الفن جميل، ففي عام 2009، أنشأت الفن جميل بينالي جائزة جميل للفن المعاصر المستوحى من التقاليد الإسلامية، وذلك بالتعاون مع متحف فيكتوريا وألبرت بلندن. وفي عام 2010، أقيمت دورة جائزة جميل للتصوير الفوتوغرافي السنوية والتي تطورت الآن لتصبح برنامجاً تعليمياً بفعاليات مستمرة على مدار العام.

كان الفن جميل عضوا مؤسساً في إدج أوف أرابيا؛ حيث تعاونت المؤسستين بين عامي 2010 و 2016 على إنتاج مشاريع رئيسية معاً. ومن بين هذه المشروعات مشروع “بيوت أمهاتنا” في مقر الأمم المتحدة الرئيسي في نيويورك، و”المدن الرمزية – عمل أحمد ماطر” في معرض آرثر م. ساكلر في معهد سميثسونيان، في واشنطن العاصمة، ومعرض “جذر” في بينالي البندقية و”COME TOGETHER#”، في لندن. كما تعاونت الفن جميل مع كلتشر رانرز، وهي مؤسسة مستقلة تدعم الفنانين عبر الحدود وحالياً هي استوديو متنقل ومحطة بث متنقلة تم تدشينها في سبتمبر 2014 في  روثكو شابيل في هيوستن، تكساس حيث تسافر من مكان إلى آخر في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

كما تعاونت الفن جميل مع مؤسسة كروسواي لتنظيم رحلات للفنانين الشباب والمبدعين من دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي لاستكشاف الفن والتراث الثقافي في الدول الأخرى، وحضور ورش العمل، ولقاء فنانين محليين لإنتاج أعمال جديدة. وقد ساهمت الرحلات إلى إسبانيا واليابان وأمريكا بالإضافة إلى مبادرات أخرى على إثراء تجارب أكثر من 100 خريج ومنهم كثيرون أكملوا المسيرة بالمشاركة في برامج الفن جميل ذات النطاق الأوسع.

وفي عام 2013، أسست الفن جميل أسبوع الفن في جده كبرنامج حيوي للمعارض وعروض الشارع والندوات الدولية لدعم الفنون المعاصرة، وأصبحت شريكاً مؤسساً لشركة “أجنحة عربية”، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تعمل على دعم والارتقاء بالفن المعاصر والثقافة العربية مع التركيز بشكل خاص على المملكة العربية السعودية.

وعلى أصعدة أخرى، فقد دعمت الفن جميل الفنون الأدبية من خلال مبادرة الإصدار الأول، التي تستهدف دعم انتاجات الشباب السعودي من المبدعين الذين لم يسبق لهم طبع أي من أعمالهم الإبداعية، بالتعاون مع النادي الأدبي الثقافي بجدة.

كما أطلقنا برنامج الفن جميل للتربية الفنية بالتعاون مع وزارة التربية والتعليم بالمملكة العربية السعودية، والذي يشمل ورش عمل لمعلمي الفنون لتحسين تقنيات التدريس، بالإضافة إلى مسابقة سنوية للطلاب والمعارض المختلفة.

وتم إطلاق برنامج “كونيكتد: الفن في المطارات” التي تهدف إلى التوعية بالفن السعودي ونشر الثقافة الفنية السعودية لدى قطاع أوسع من الجماهير ويتم تنظيمه بالتعاون مع الهيئة العامة للطيران المدني والجمعية السعودية للفنون التشكيلية بجدة. وقد أقيمت معارض بمطار الملك عبدالعزيز الدولي بجدة ومطار الملك خالد الدولي بالرياض ومطار الملك فهد الدولي بالدمام.

ومنذ عام 2015، أعادت الفن جميل تنشيط دعمها للتراث الثقافي، وأنشأت بيت جميل للفنون التراثية في جدّة التاريخية (البلد)، ودعمت إنشاء بيت جميل للفنون التراثية في دمفريس هاوس في اسكتلندا. وتحافظ كلتا المؤسستين، كما بيت جميل للفنون التراثية في القاهرة، على الفنون التراثية والحرف اليدوية من خلال مبادرات التعليم وبرامج دعم الخريجين على استخدام تلك المهارات في ترميم التراث وريادة الأعمال.

Art Jameel was established in 2003 as part of Community Jameel, the organisation set up to continue the Jameel family’s tradition of supporting the community — a tradition started in the 1940s by the late Abdul Latif Jameel, founder of the Abdul Latif Jameel business, who throughout his life helped tens of thousands of disadvantaged people in the fields of healthcare, education and improving livelihoods. Today, Community Jameel is dedicated to supporting social and economic sustainability, across the Middle East and beyond, through a range of initiatives.

Art Jameel is a complementary, independent organisation that fosters and promotes contemporary art, cultural heritage protection, and creative entrepreneurship across the Middle East, North Africa, Turkey and beyond.

In 2003, Art Jameel partnered with the Victoria and Albert Museum in London to renovate the Islamic gallery, now called the Jameel Gallery of Islamic Art. Art Jameel’s work in supporting cultural heritage continued with, in 2009, the launch of the Jameel House of Traditional Arts / Cairo, a major teaching institution that preserves the heritage of traditional arts and crafts; supports young artists to develop contemporary designs from Egyptian traditions; and helps graduates apply their skills in the restoration of monuments or as entrepreneurs. In Jeddah, in 2013, Art Jameel (together with the Jeddah Municipality) completed the construction of an open-air sculpture museum on the Corniche, for which it first restored and then re-located 26 modern and contemporary sculptures from across the city.

As well as preserving heritage from the Middle East, a central pillar to Art Jameel’s mission is the support of new, contemporary artists from the region. In 2009, Art Jameel established the biennial Jameel Prize for contemporary art inspired by Islamic tradition, in partnership with the V&A, and in 2010, the annual Art Jameel Photography Award, which has now developed into a year-round educational programme.

Art Jameel was a founding member of Edge of Arabia; between 2010 and 2016, the two organisations co-produced major projects together, including ‘Our Mother’s House’ at the United Nations Head Quarters, New York; ‘Symbolic Cities – The Work of Ahmed Mater’ at the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery at the Smithsonian Institute, Washington D.C.; ‘Rhizoma’ at the Venice Biennale; and ‘#COMETOGETHER’, London. Art Jameel has also collaborated with CULTURUNNERS, an independent organisation supporting artists across borders. CULTURUNNERS is currently a mobile artist studio and broadcast vehicle, traveling across the US, launched in September 2014 at the Rothko Chapel in Houston, Texas.

Art Jameel also collaborated with the Crossway Foundation to organise journeys for young artists and creative professionals from the Gulf to explore other countries, visit arts spaces, attend workshops, meet local artists and produce new works. Among other initiatives, Journeys to Spain, Japan and the USA, have helped nurture more than 100 alumni over the past decade, many of whom have gone on to participate in Art Jameel’s wider programming.

In 2013, Art Jameel established Jeddah Art Week as a lively program of exhibitions, street performances and international symposia to support the contemporary arts, and became a founder partner of Arabian Wings, a non-profit organisation developing the appreciation of contemporary Arab art and culture with a particular focus on Saudi Arabia.

In other fields, Art Jameel has supported the literary arts through First Edition, supporting the debut publications of young Saudi writers, in collaboration with the Jeddah Literary Cultural Club.

The Art Jameel Education Programme was organised in collaboration with the Ministry of Education in Saudi Arabia and included workshops for art teachers to improve their teaching techniques, plus a yearly contest for students and exhibitions.

Connected – Art in Airports was launched with the aim of expanding audiences and awareness for Saudi art; in collaboration with the General Authority of Civil Aviation and the Saudi Art Association in Jeddah, art exhibitions have taken place to date in Hail, at King Abdulaziz International Airport in Jeddah, at Riyadh’s King Khalid International Airport and in Dammam.

Since 2015, Art Jameel has reinvigorated its support for cultural heritage, opening the Jameel House of Traditional Arts / Jeddah in the Old Town (Al-Balad) of Jeddah, and supporting the establishment of the Jameel House of Traditional Arts / Scotland on the estate of Dumfries House. Both institutions, like the Jameel House of Traditional Arts / Cairo, preserve traditional arts and crafts through education and help graduates apply those skills to heritage restoration or as entrepreneurs.