مركز جميل للفنون / دبي

شهد شهر نوفمبر 2018 افتتاح مركز جميل للفنون، أحد أول المؤسسات الفنية المعاصرة في دبي. يقع المركز في جداف ووترفرونت على خور دبي ويضّم عدة صالات عرض فنية تحتضن تكليفات فنية، ومشاريع، ومعارض فردية وجماعية مستوحاة من مجموعة فن جميل من خلال الشراكات الإقليمية والعالمية. مركز جميل للفنون مغلق مؤقتا لدعم جهود الحكومة في منع تفشي فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19).

يقع المركز في منطقة مبتكرة جديدة في دبي، ويعّد أيضاً مركزًا للمبادرات التعليمية والفعاليات الثقافية المختلفة. وهذا علاوة على مكتبة جميل، والتي تعّد مركز أبحاث مفتوح يُعنى بالفن المعاصر والتاريخ الثقافي للمنطقة العربية. يضّم المركز أيضاً مساحات مخصّصة للمشاريع والتكليفات الفنيّة، وشرفة مكشوفة على السطح، واستوديوهات للكتّاب، وصالة مخصصة للأعضاء، ومتجر ومطعم. كما تاتي حديقة جداف ووترفرونت للفنون بالتعاون مع دبي القابضة، مكملة لهندسة بناء مركز جميل للفنون.

المبنى عبارة عن مساحة متعددة الاختصاصات يتألف من ثلاثة طوابق، تم تصميمه من قِبل شركة سيري أركيتيكتس التي تتخذ من المملكة المتحدة مقراً لها، وبالتعاون مع إبدأ للتصميم في دبي كإستشاري هندسي. توفر البنية الهندسية للمبنى إمكانات تنظيمية مرنة وغنية – من المساحات الحميمة لمعارض الكبسولة إلى المعارض الكبيرة ذات الارتفاعات الكبيرة لعرض الأعمال التركيبية والمجسمات.

 

استقبل البرنامج الافتتاحي  لمركز جميل للفنون خلال الأسبوع الأول أكثر من 10,940 زائر للمركز. بدأت الأمسية الحافلة بكلمة من معالي الوزيرة نورة بنت محمد الكعبي، وزيرة الثقافة وتنمية المعرفة، تبعه عرض فريد لفرقة “المالد” الإماراتية، بالإضافة إلى افتتاح المركز الذي يشارك فيه أكثر من 40 فنانا.

وقد تناول معرض “خام”؛ المعرض الجماعي الافتتاحي، بإشراف القيّم مرتضى فالي، الذي إمتد على خمس مساحات، موضوع النفط بتشعباته في السياقات التاريخية والمعاصرة. أما غرف الفنانين فهي عبارة عن سلسلة مستمرة من المعارض التي تركز على فنان منفرد تمثله مجموعة فن جميل وإستهلت بسلسلة من أربعة عروض فردية لفنانين مرموقين من الشرق الأوسط وآسيا: الفنانة مها ملوح، لاله روخ، شيهارو شيوتا، ومنيرة الصلح. إلى جانب مجموعة مختارة من التركيبات والمجسّمات كبيرة الحجم، والعديد منها تم تكليفها حديثاً لتزين شُرفة السطح وحدائق المركز. هذا إلى جانب الحدائق المحيطة التي صممتها مهندسة المناظر الطبيعية أنوك فيجل. أما صالة 9 فتركز على أعمال السينما والفيديوهات الفنية، وقد إفتتحت بعمل لجمانة مناع.

 

لمعرفة المزيد حول المعارض والبرامج قم بزيارة صفحة مركز جميل للفنون واتباع هاشتاج @jameelartcentre  على إنستغرام وفايسبوك، وللحصول على التحديثات وآخر الأخبار تابعنا على تويتر @jameelartsctr.

Jameel Arts Centre, Dubai

November 11, 2018 marked the opening of Jameel Arts Centre, one of the first contemporary arts institutions in Dubai. Located at Jaddaf Waterfront, the Centre’s multiple gallery spaces are home to curated commissions, projects, and solo and group exhibitions, drawn both from the Art Jameel Collection and through regional and international collaborations.

Positioned as a new creative destination in the city, and a hub for educational initiatives and cultural events, Jameel Arts Centre includes an open-access research library dedicated to artists and cultural movements of the Arab world, plus project and commissions spaces, a roof-top terrace, writer’s studio, members’ lounge, restaurant and shop.

The building itself is a specially-commissioned, three-storey, multi-disciplinary space designed by UK-based practice Serie Architects, with Dubai-based ibda design as consultant architects. The architecture offers a flexible and rich curatorial potential – from intimate spaces for capsule exhibitions through to large galleries with soaring heights for sculptural and installation works.

The opening week programme saw 10,940 visitors through the Centre’s doors – more than double the expected attendance. The packed preview evening included a welcome by Her Excellency Noura bint Mohammed Al Kaabi, the Minister of Culture and Knowledge Development, and a special Malid performance, as well the debut of the Centre’s exhibitions featuring 40 artists.

Spread across five galleries, the inaugural group exhibition, ‘Crude’, curated by Murtaza Vali, considers the complex theme of oil within both historic and contemporary contexts. Artist’s Rooms, an on-going collaborative series of exhibitions that focus on a single artist represented in the Art Jameel Collection, opened with a series of four solo shows by eminent artists from the Middle East and Asia: Maha Malluh, Lala Rukh, Chiharu Shiota and Mounira Al Solh. A selection of large-scale installations and sculptural works, several newly commissioned, are on view on the Centre’s roof terrace and within a series of permanent gardens designed by landscape architect Anouk Vogel. Gallery 9 focusses on artist’s film and video, starting with a work by Jumana Manna.

Visit the Jameel Arts Centre‘s page for more details on the exhibitions and programmes, and follow hashtag #jameelartscentre, @jameelartscentre on Instagram and Facebook, and @jameelartsctr on Twitter for latest news and updates.