تشمل رسالة الفن جميل التركيز على البحث والتوثيق، والإسهام في إنتاج التاريخ الثقافي لدول مجلس التعاون الخليجي والشرق الأوسط على نطاق أوسع. وسيضم مركز جميل للفنون في دبي، بافتتاحه المرتقب في شتاء عام 2018، مكتبة مفتوحة ومركزاً للأبحاث، صمم ليشمل الكتب والأوراق البحثية والأطروحات وأرشيفات الفنانين، والبحوث القصيرة. وستمثّل المكتبة ومركز البحوث المكان الأمثل للوصول إلى تاريخ الفن في منطقة الخليج وخارجها وتحليله، كما ستتيح للجمهور المحلي إمكانية الوصول إلى معلومات عن الفنانين العالميين.

يركز الإستديو الحالي، الأول ضمن سلسلة  أبحاث بعنوان”هوامش” على الفترة النشطة في أوائل الثمانينيات في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، لا سيما الموقف التعاوني المشترك بين التخصصات الذي اتخذه الفنانون والشعراء وكتاب المسرحيات والمخرجون المسرحيون والكتاب في ذلك الوقت. إستديو الأبحاث مفتوح للجميع، في منصة مشاريع الفن جميل في السركال أفينيو من 1 نوفمبر إلى غاية 21 ديسمبر 2017.

يواصل بحث “الممارسات المشتركة بين التخصصات في أوائل الثمانينيات، الإمارات العربية المتحدة” مساهمة الفن جميل في معرض “حجرة، ورقة، مقص: ممارسات اللعب والأداء” في الجناح الوطني لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة 2017 الذي كان تحت رعاية القيّم حمّاد نصار في بينالي البندقية (بينالي فينيسيا)، ويستمد الإلهام من مقابلة مع الشاعر خالد البدور والفنانة نجوم الغانم، بعنوان “حوار بين الإيقاع والشكل”، التي نُشرت في الكتيب المصاحب للمعرض.

تشمل أنشطة الفن جميل البحثية الأوسع نطاقا عملها في مجال التراث، غالبا من خلال التعاون مع المنظمات الأخرى التي ترکز علی الحفاظ ورعایة المھارات والنقاشات الحرفیة والمعماریة والأثریة.

Art Jameel’s mandate includes excavating, documenting — and playing a role in creating — cultural histories of the GCC and wider Middle East. The Jameel Arts Centre, Dubai, due to open in the winter of 2018, will include an open access library and research centre, designed to include books, papers, theses, artists’ archives, and ephemera. The library will be a place to access, analyse, and build art histories of the Gulf region and beyond, and also offering local audiences access to information on international artists.

The current Research Studio, the first in a series titled Annotations, focusses on the dynamic period of the early 1980s in the UAE and, in particular, on the collaborative, multidisciplinary stance taken by artists, poets, playwrights, theatre directors and writers at that time. The Research Studio is open to all, and takes place at Project Space Art Jameel, Alserkal Avenue, November 1-December 21, 2017.

Interdisciplinary practices of the early ’80s, UAE’ follows Art Jameel’s collaboration (as Research Partner) with ‘Rock, Paper, Scissors: Positions in Play’, the National Pavilion of the United Arab Emirates 2017 exhibition curated by Hammad Naser at la Biennale di Venezia (Venice Biennale). The Studio takes as inspiration an interview with the poet Khalid Albudoor and artist Nujoom Alghanem, titled “A Dialogue between Rhythm and Form”, published in the exhibition’s accompanying book.

Art Jameel’s wider research activities include our work in the Heritage field, often through collaborations with other organisations focussed on the preservation and nurturing of artisanal, architectural and archaeological skills and debates.